Yep, still unemployed

Standard

Just in case you wondered, since the last time I wrote about it was over a month ago: I’m still a drain on the family income.

Oh, I do my part and all. I’ve had a couple of substitute teaching jobs, have temped some, even had second interviews with a great non-profit organization I was REALLY excited about talking to. But nothing came of it. AND, I got yet another letter from the university (where I spent seven years as a secretary getting excellent annual reviews) telling me that they chose someone else for the position I applied for without even wanting to talk to me.

If I had a soundtrack board, like they use in radio shows, at this moment I would insert someone with a lovely British accent screaming “BUGGER!!”  Hugh Grant perhaps, or Michael Palin….

Last Friday I sent out another half-dozen or so resumes. Maybe one of them will actually catch someone’s attention. For now, though, I need to vacuum and fold some laundry. I guess I do contribute – I do the things we’d like to pay someone to do if I had a job.

About Laurie

I have too many hobbies, but have finally learned (sort of) how to focus on one at a time and stifle my desire to add more. ;) I'm a mom, a wife, a writer, an artist, a seamstress, a gardener, a backyard-chicken farmer, a fundraiser, a movie-lover, a book hoarder, a junker, a thrift-store-shopper... I also love to laugh, make people happy, and take road trips. Some of these things make it into blog posts. I'm almost 50 and I'm still able to sleep through the night. I consider that a success.

Leave a Reply

