I found myself in a bookstore!

Standard

I went to a bookstore tonight and found myself.

For some, the process of finding themselves can be a long, involved process riddled with failed love affairs, too many overnight stays in hostels or on friends’ floors, and possibly a visit to rehab… or at least some drug use.  My path to self-discovery was long and involved as well, but instead of hostels and drugs being the catalyst, there was a mobile home and a few children.

So, tonight I went with Hubby to the local evil chain bookstore and while he looked for some literature to purchase with his birthday giftcard I grabbed some crafting books to look through as Boychild played with the train in the children’s section.  I flipped through the pages of a wonderful book (that is now on my Amazon wish list) and was inspired enough to sketch some ideas and jot down notes on an envelope I dug out of my purse. 

Why do I think this was so cool?  Because, as I was sketching and writing and being inspired I felt like I was an artist.  I was able to own my desire to create the things I was drawing on that envelope and it wasn’t just “something I want to do”, it was something I know I can do and will do.  I am able, now, to call myself an artist and a writer and own those titles and not feel like I’m just wishing or dreaming. 

So, as I walked back through the store on the way out, this realization came to me and it was a small, quiet, earthshaking moment for me.  I suppose it was worth waiting for.

About Laurie

I have too many hobbies, but have finally learned (sort of) how to focus on one at a time and stifle my desire to add more. ;) I'm a mom, a wife, a writer, an artist, a seamstress, a gardener, a backyard-chicken farmer, a fundraiser, a movie-lover, a book hoarder, a junker, a thrift-store-shopper... I also love to laugh, make people happy, and take road trips. Some of these things make it into blog posts. I'm almost 50 and I'm still able to sleep through the night. I consider that a success.

7 responses »

  1. Oh… the first of many oncoming unstoppable locomotives of quiet earth-shattering moments and realizations. Keep a notebook on hand 24/7 from now on, doll.

Leave a Reply

